Archive for December, 2011

My Life Scam Beware of MyLife.com

MyLife portrays itself as some sort of tool where you can supposedly discover “who’s searching for you”. I believe that is very misleading to say the least.

MyLife.com is actually in the midst of a lawsuit in California. Click HERE to download the PDF court document for details.  - (It’s a good read)

MyLife.com is the new name for Classmates.com, Reunion.com, and Wink.com . Those of you who were on the internet years ago will remember those annoying image ads for Classmates.com.

Utilizing the concept that “someone is looking for you,” in their advertisements is how they attempt to lure people to sign up. After someone signs up for free, they discover that you must pay for a monthly membership to even see “who’s searching for you”. One month starts out at $13.95.

Lets do a search on MyLife shall we….oh take a look at these quality results!

Click on image to enlarge.

It has been reported that they have been accused of over billing people by substantial amounts after signing up. They have also been accused of hosting a database of fake names which are used as “people”  that have been “searching for you.”

In my opinion (of course), MyLife.com is an absolute worthless ripoff website, and a piece of complete and utter junk. The purpose of the website is not clear to the consumer which is a dead giveaway.

I took this excerpt from the court document (link above):

RIP OFF. STAY AWAY. This website emailed me that 41 people were looking for me. I have a very unusual name. I went online and clicked to pay $7.95 to see the names. mylife promptly debited my card for almost $100.00. The “41 people” were NO ONE that I have ever heard of and they would not be looking for me by accident with the unusual name I have. This is a complete SCAM.

If you would like to read more, I have compiled several links to other information related to MyLife:

Article on DailyFinance.com

Complaints Board

Courthouse News Service


BBB Assistance Re Case Spam Email Better Business Bureau

I received three similar versions of the same spam email that claims to be from the BBB or Better Business Bureau. I have posted the three emails below.

The email wants you to click on a link to reply to a “complaint”. The link is directed to an index file on the IP 38.106.32.183. Huge red flag right there as it is not even a link to the proper BBB domain name (bbb.org).

The IP address belongs to a hosting company. Since the link doesn’t resolve anymore, it looks as if the hosting company closed down the account.

I suggest you don’t ever click on links contained in emails, without first hovering over the link and verifying that it is directing you to the correct domain name.

The grammar mistakes in these emails are a dead giveaway. Plus if you search for each of the “employees” names, none actually work for the BBB.

Hello,
The Better Business Bureau has received the above-referenced complaint from one of your clients in respect of their dealings with you.
The detailed information about the consumer’s concern is contained in attached document.
Please give attention to this case and let us know about your point of view.
We kindly ask you to click here to reply this complaint.

We look forward to your urgent attention to this matter.

Faithfully yours,
Paula Tap
Better Business Bureau

Hello,
The Better Business Bureau has been sent the above-referenced complaint from one of your associates concerning their dealings with you.
The detailed information about the consumer’s concern is included in attached file.
Please give attention to this matter and advise us of your standpoint.
We kindly ask you to click here to reply this complaint.

We look forward to your urgent attention to this matter.

Sincerely,
Anita Emil
Better Business Bureau

Hello,
The Better Business Bureau has got the above-referenced complaint from one of your clients in respect of their dealings with you.
The detailed information about the consumer’s concern is contained in enclosed file.
Please review this issue and advise us of your point of view.
We kindly ask you to click here to answer this complaint.

We look forward to your urgent attention to this matter.

Yours faithfully,
Roland Dani
Better Business Bureau

 


Is Beezid a Scam? The No BS Assessment

Technically Beezid is not a scam by black and white definition, but I would describe it as misleading. Watch out for websites that over-glorify Beezid with written articles. Most of them simply do this so that you will visit Beezid from their site and sign up, so that they can collect commission. Beezid.com will pay webmasters $25 for each person they refer, who will also create an account on Beezid and make a purchase within 180 days.

Beezid is just one of the several “penny” auction websites online. It is true that these auctions go up by a penny at a time, BUT the trick is each penny actually translates to a dollar amount. Misleading a bit huh?

As stated on their website:

Bids are available in packs of 30, 50, 100, 200, 500 and 1000 and range from $0.55 – $0.90 per bid.

This means each penny you use to bid with will cost you anywhere from $0.55 to $0.90 to place, depending on the bid package you buy.

The bottom line is, it looks neat that you can buy something with “pennies on a dollar,” but you are actually paying for the ability to even place the bid.

Also, even people who don’t end up winning the item still have to pay for the bids they placed. How ridiculous is this?

Think long and hard about this.

 



Copyright © 2011 ZSZN.com. All rights reserved.
Jarrah theme by Templates Next | Powered by WordPress
ZSZN Zero Stupidity Zero Nonsense BlogCatalog blog search directory Premium website monitoring Blogging Fusion Blog Directory BLOG DIRECTORY, Submit blog free, Promote Blog, Best directory